pushing limits

08May08

I feel like the way I’ve learned most of what I know in sewing is just through making project after project and refining my process each time. Sometimes though, you take on something that pushes you out of your comfort zone enough that you’ve got to seek out some good reading material and rely on the advice of some experienced guides.

Right now, I’m tackling my first wedding dress. And this is one garment I want to get right on the first time. Luckily, I’ve found some great mentors in the wardrobe union who give me pointers between backstage quickchanges (thanks CB and Jean!). I’ve also scoured the library for some good references and found this book, Bridal Couture: Fine Sewing Techniques for Wedding Gowns and Evening Wear. It’s been really handy reminding me of every step as I go along and is a good refresher for the different techniques used in evening wear that I don’t use much in theatre (who needs to delicately line a dress that’s seen from 30 feet away?). Check it out for your next formal wear project.

No Responses Yet to “pushing limits”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

